Home > AIX, UNIX > Install Ricoh Driver on AIX Server

Install Ricoh Driver on AIX Server

Installing print drivers for Ricoh devices in an AIX environment is a breeze. Ricoh has provided drivers that can be managed through SMIT. If the SMIT drivers do not work you can use a different method that is included with the drivers README. So far I have used the following steps to install print drivers for the Ricoh models MPC5000, MPC3300 and MP171.

  1. Download the driver
    1. Go to the RICOH USA Software Download website
    2. Down at the very bottom of the page  there is a section called “Other available environments”. Click on UNIX.
    3. Insure the printer model is in the supported list.
    4. Click on “Go to Download”
    5. Fill out the registration page
    6. Download the driver for the appropriate printer.
    7. Install the driver
      1. On the AIX box copy the file to /opt
      2. Install the tar file with the command
        tar –xvf filename.tar
      3. The driver will install in /opt/RICOH
      4. Go into /opt/RICOH
      5. Run the following command:
        ./unix_installer
      6. Hit spacebar to go through the EULA
      7. Type Y and hit enter to accept the EULA
      8. Type Y and hit enter to choose SMIT
      9. The driver is now installed.
      10. You can now setup the printer in SMIT as you would other printers.
Categories: AIX, UNIX Tags: , ,
  1. Don
    April 7, 2011 at 10:19 | #1

    We have three Ricoh copiers (Aficio MP 2550, MP 6000, & MPC4000) and are on AIX 5.3. None of our copiers are listed as being compatible with AIX 5.3. Am I just out of luck? Is there a driver somewhere that will at least give me basic printing functionality?

    • Ken Santema
      April 7, 2011 at 10:34 | #2

      I ran into the same problem with a couple of the Ricoh models (and even more problem finding someone at Ricoh who could help me). I ended up going with what I figured was a “similar” model. I know for a MP 6000 I chose the MP 6500 UNIX driver. It appeared to work fine for all the functions we use.

  2. Don
    April 7, 2011 at 10:21 | #3

    We have three Ricoh copiers (Aficio MP 2550, MP 6000, & MPC4000) and are on AIX 5.3. None of our copiers are listed as being compatible with AIX 5.3. Am I just out of luck? Is there a driver somewhere that will at least give me basic printing functionality?

    • Ken Santema
      April 7, 2011 at 10:33 | #4

      I ran into the same problem with a couple of the Ricoh models (and even more problem finding someone at Ricoh who could help me). I ended up going with what I figured was a “similar” model. I know for a MP 6000 I chose the MP 6500 UNIX driver. It appeared to work fine for all the functions we use.

  1. June 8, 2010 at 15:12 | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

