Home > Networking > What to do when your ISP’s DNS servers are down? Use Google!

What to do when your ISP’s DNS servers are down? Use Google!

My current ISP Charter is currently having DNS issues. This is easy to verify. I am able to ping some known IPs on the internet. But when I ping Charters DNS servers I get massive packet loss. Here is a sample ping to one of Charters DNS servers:

All of the Charter DNS servers I ping have the same result. Now to get my laptop back on the Internet I decided to drop Charter for name resolution. I have elected to use the Google Public DNS servers instead. The IP’s for the Google DNS servers are easy to remember:

  • 8.8.8.8
  • 8.8.4.4

For those unfamiliar with how to change your DNS server settings Google has these instructions. There are instructions for Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Even if you don’t change your DNS server settings, I would keep these IP’s handy just in case!!

Categories: Networking Tags: ,
  1. February 7, 2013 at 00:19

    Thanks a lot for taking time to create “What to do when your ISPs DNS servers are down?

    Use Google! Ken’s Network”. Thank you once again -Nikole

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

