Home > Security > Adobe Reader shouldn’t be updating every day!

Adobe Reader shouldn’t be updating every day!

I was looking at my blog statistics and noticed a lot of people hitting my site are using a search term similar to “why is adobe reader updated almost every day”. Since I wrote a blog post about Adobe some time ago my site comes up in this search. The following is my advice for people having this problem.

Adobe Reader should NOT be updating every day. If the reader is updating every day there is a problem. Looking at Adobe Readers downloads it can be seen that an update comes out about every couple of months or so.

The first suspect I would look at is malware/virus. TrendLabs released a warning last April about a Trojan (TROJ_FAYKDOBE.A) that looks identical to the Adobe Updater. The updater would then download other malicious files. I expect this type of attack to happen more often. It is imperative that you keep your anti-virus software up to date and do regular full scans of your computer.

If you are having a problem with Adobe Reader updating every day I would immediately update your anti-virus software and do a full scan. Trend Micro rates this type of attack as a high damage potential due to it being able to download anything to your computer.

If your computer is clean from virus/malware it is likely that your Adobe Reader has technical issues. One option would be to uninstall Adobe Reader, then install the latest version back on. The current version of Adobe Reader (Adobe Reader X at the time of this post) can always be found here.

Another option it to use an alternate PDF reader. I like Foxit as a PDF reader. It seems to work much quicker than Adobe and has fewer known security vulnerabilities.

Categories: Security Tags:
  1. spud
    April 18, 2011 at 05:58

    It only seems like it is every day. Probably only twice a week! The reason? Piss poor programmers at adobe!

  2. jahfrey
    May 26, 2011 at 14:57

    It’s not just Reader. I have Adobe Technical Suite, and it updates all the time. Maybe not daily, but close enough. Whenever I go to use Adobe Help, there are updates to deal with.
    On top of it, while many of Adobe’s products are the best on the market, they are huge resource hogs. I love what Photoshop can ultimately do, but it is a beast to learn and use.
    I’ve gotten to the point where I pretty much hate Adobe and dread using the products.

  3. rich
    August 1, 2011 at 21:06

    this is the biggest horseshit I have ever read. Adobe reader updates at least once per week, and sometimes it seems like 3 times per week. What the heck are you incompetent programmers doing that needs fixing so often?????

  4. Guest
    September 15, 2011 at 15:45

    I agree adobe updates far to often. They should push out updates once a month like Microsoft. I have to update my adobe around 4 times per week. I will try uninstall and reinstall but I am not hopeful.

  5. AnotherGuest
    October 3, 2011 at 10:11

    Thanks for the advice and where to find the correct Adobe reader downloads

  6. January 2, 2013 at 14:11

    yeah, I updated an hour ago yet suddently YouTube stopped showing videos stating that I need an update. This has happened before.Surely in an hour my version couldn’t be outdated?? So anyone know what’s up?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

