Home > Networking > Arrow keys not working in Excel, it scrolls instead

Arrow keys not working in Excel, it scrolls instead

Been a while since I posted, but here is a quick easy answer to a problem I’ve seen quite often. When you are working in MS Excel it is quite easy to move between fields using the arrow key. Every once in a while I’ll have a client call and as if I can fix their Excel because the arrow makes “everything move”.

The fix for this is simple: The scroll lock key has been pushed on the keyboard. Hit the scroll lock key again and your arrows will work normally. If that doesn’t fix it I would check to make sure you don’t have a macro that is causing issues.

Categories: Networking Tags: ,
  1. Good Samaritan
    November 26, 2012 at 14:53

    Dear Ken: Thanks a million for the tip – I have a spreadsheet with about 20 hours of work in it when this issue developed, so I thought I had a big issue. Thanks for the help – It is a lifesaver !

  2. Kabir Khan
    January 19, 2013 at 11:22

    If you donot have scroll lock in your keyboard….press home with function botton (FN)

    • firstladyofshoes@yahoo.com
      January 29, 2013 at 14:25

      but what if that doesn’t work……FRUSTRATED

  3. Priyanka
    January 28, 2013 at 09:05

    Thanks a lot.. it was really very irritating.

  4. Sue Barton
    August 20, 2013 at 18:22

    Pushing the scroll key alone did not solve my problem. I had to push the fn key and the scroll to fix the problem.

  5. October 14, 2013 at 19:01

    When I Googled this, I thought I’m in for a long, hard search. Saw your post and that was it. Thanks so much for posting it.

  6. Jo Schwender
    January 2, 2014 at 19:33

    Thanks Ken and Sue Barton – that was my fix too.

  7. a
    January 14, 2014 at 22:08

    Perfect

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

