Home > Scams, Security > FBI ALERT/IRS email is a scam

FBI ALERT/IRS email is a scam

Since I work in an accounting office a few people forwarded an email to me before clicking anything to see if it was harmful. The message title reads : “FBI ALERT/IRS” and here is the body:

—–Original Message—–
From: Seattle Washington [mailto:departmentfb@mail.com]
Sent: Monday, June 20, 2011 2:14 AM
To: undisclosed-recipients:

View attached file to read important Email from FBI/IRS. You are to contact
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in Seattle, Washington 98174 for your Tax
Fee Clearance. find below their contact details:

Contact Person: Mr. Jake Potter


Contact Email : j.potter@blumail.org

Seattle Washington Department.

245K   View   Download

As you can see the email includes an attachment to be clicked, a PDF in this case.  This email is definitely a scam. I tested the PDF on a test system and it appears to be clean.  However you can see the text of this PDF below and see that it most definitely is a scam:

I thought it was a nice touch having the CC include the Supreme Court of the United States.

No matter what do no send an email or call the number in the announcement. It’s definitely a scam!!  For one this is not how government agencies communicate!!!  If you find any letters like this you are unsure of its best to find someone who can make the determination for you!

Categories: Scams, Security
  1. Caitlin
    June 21, 2011 at 12:52

    OK Thank you! I JUST received this exact email and just wanted to make sure it was a scam.

  2. Catherine
    June 21, 2011 at 16:20

    Thanks,…just got this e-mail as well. I was weary of spyware…..

  3. lorita
    June 25, 2011 at 10:47

    I just received a different spam…”Subject: IRS notification letter.” BEWARE! The IRS does not email. Help spread the word to avoid the spam machine!

  4. June 26, 2011 at 07:42

    I figured as much that it was a scam! I guess the idiot doesnt know that the irs doesnt email you.The logo and the letter is not bad,he misspelled some words…..dumb ass

    • Ken Santema
      June 27, 2011 at 20:31

      No kidding, if your gonna do something like this don’t ya think a spell check would be a good idea????

  5. June 26, 2011 at 11:58

    I just received one of these as well and it’s identical. To whom do I report this too

  6. June 26, 2011 at 11:59

    What does this spammer look to acheive?

    • Ken Santema
      June 27, 2011 at 20:32

      I wasn’t able to figure that out. Just to get people to contact him, probably to give out banking info.

  7. June 27, 2011 at 12:56

    Thank you Ken! I just received one of these FBI ALERT/IRS alert emails and the information on your website helped me to confirm it as a scam. -Joanne

  8. Will
    July 21, 2011 at 14:28

    LOL in my email it says Jake Potter is “Principal Legal Advisor Department Of Homeland Security (DHS)” . LMAO that guy sure does get around. How many positions can a guy have in government? LOL
    The clue that tipped me off as to it being a scam is their grammar. There is consistent use in your PDF file and my email where the writer uses “advice” rather than “advise” or “advised”

  1. August 29, 2017 at 11:18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: